The purpose of the San Marcos Arts (SMarts) Award program is to encourage and recognize outstanding support and enhancement of the arts and cultural life of San Marcos; to recognize the important contributions of artists and arts organizations to the quality of life and economic vitality of the community; and to encourage volunteerism and business participation with local arts organizations. 

For more information, contact Arts Coordinator Trey Hatt at 512.393.8416 or

SMarts Award Recipients:

2022 Advocacy Awards

  • Margaret Adie - practicing artist, founding member of 218 Co-Op Gallery, and member of the Price Center Arts Committee
  • Chris Cooper - long-time art educator recently retired as Arts Coordinator for San Marcos High School
  • Broke Thespian's Theatre Company (Spark Award): up-and-coming local theatre troupe 

2021 Advocacy Awards: 

  • Ana Baer Carrillo – choreographer and instructor at Texas State University 
  • Kelly Stone – performer and comedian 
  • Christine Terrell – artist, volunteer, and San Marcos Art League board member  

2019 Advocacy Awards

  • Cecy Holcomb
  • Julie Balkman/Wake the Dead
  • Kelsey Huckaby
  • Lucky Tomblin--posthumous

2018 Advocacy Awards

  • San Marcos Performing Arts Association
  • Carlos "Chitah Daniels Kennedy" Molina
  • The Price Center
  • Kevin Huffaker


  • Johnnie Armstead - Posthumous Award
  • Kathryn Welch - SPARK Award
  • La Socedad Cuauhtémoc - Arts Organization Award
  • Kaitlin Hopkins - Smart Award Individual
  • Joan Nagel &Tracy Weinberg - Smart Award Individual


  • Rice Harrington - Posthumous Award
  • Jordan Buckley/San Marcos Cinema Club - Spark Award
  • Lee Coleé - Smart Award Individual
  • Christopher Hansen - Smart Award Individual
  • Terri Hendrix - Smart Award Individual


  • John Hood and Daniel Hannon - Posthumous Award
  • Jody Cross - Spark Award
  • Art Squared - SMart Award Organization
  • Scott Wade - SMart Award Individual
  • Billy Ray and Beverly Mangham, Eye of the Dog Art Center - SMart Award Advocate
  • Mario Garza and the Indigenous Cultures Institute - Diversity Award


  • Ron and Marie Jaeger
  • Deanna Badgett
  • Billi London-Gray


  • Kent Finley
  • Kyle Mylius
  • Jerry Touchstone Kimmel


  • Ophelia Vasquez-Philo and El Centro Cultural Hispano de San Marcos
  • Linda Kelsey-Jones
  • Arlis Hiebert